The number of older people is increasing. Some people think that this will cause problems in their countries, others believe this group is important to society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the advancement in science and medicine, there has been a significant rise in the elderly population. Due to their increased number, certain demographics of society predict that this growing trend will have adverse ramifications while others disagree and think that these people have a valuable role to play in society. In my opinion, the aged people are an important part of any nation and I will discuss both these viewpoints and support my opinion with example.

Some people argue that a higher proportion of senior citizens will have a negative impact on the economy of any country. This is because the government generates a significant part of the revenue from the income tax. The younger generation is an active workforce which pays a higher amount of tax every year and the management uses this money on development tasks. Therefore, with the increased ratio of older people, the administration has to cut down its budget for developmental activities and fund pension and healthcare to support this group. However, I do not completely agree with this viewpoint because senior members of society might not be actively involved in social and revenue generation roles but their support and guidance are always there at the backend for the juniors. For instance, there are many retired IT professionals who are not currently working as an employee but they are available to provide on-demand services for the projects they had worked in the past and the technical documents drafted by them act as a permanent guide for the freshers. Therefore, we should not overlook the role of greyed society even if they are retired from their jobs but value their presence and the state should provide them with the necessary facilities which they deserve.

On the other side of this argument, the elderly people are an asset to society. This is due to the fact that they are mature, knowledgeable and experienced. Also, they are the witness of the history, tradition and culture. For instance, nowadays working parents have a busy schedule and inefficient to teach all the life lessons and cultural values to their children. In this situation, grandparents can educate their grandchildren with valuable life-skills such as gratitude, compassion and other moral values. Thus, the aforementioned examples substantiate that the role of the elderly generation in society is incontrovertible.

In conclusion, though the aged category is not actively contributing as equivalent to youngsters to raise the economy, their past contributions and support cannot be ignored, and the government should not treat them as a burden.