Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. Why do think this is? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this era of globalization, urban migration is a growing trend among youngsters and due to this rapid movement, an old population is left in the suburbs. This essay will first discuss the job opportunities and high-class facilities available in cities as primary reasons behind this phenomenon and later, admits that this is a negative development for both an individual and society.

Due to industrialization and advancement in technology, the urban areas offer numerous employment in various fields as compared to rural areas where career growth and opportunities are limited. Therefore, rural inhabitants are becoming city dwellers for the betterment of their career. In addition to this, metropolitans have all the modern facilities available such as well-equipped academic institutions, hospitals, shopping centres and transportation. These readily available facilities are also one of the compelling reasons to shift to the cities. For instance, every year IT professionals to hunt highly paid jobs and students to pursue higher degrees migrate to metro cities.

Although it first seems to be a positive development, it has deeper negative effects in the long-term. Firstly, the fastest-growing population in modern cities paves the way to land shortage for construction, road congestion and environmental pollution because of the heavy use of private vehicles. Therefore, the overall health of an individual living in urban terrains is at high risk. For example, every year 20% of urban mortality rate is due to pulmonary problems and inhaling toxic air daily. Moreover, the young generation is becoming self-centred and feel disconnected from their parents. This is because of the communication gap between parents and children who are staying apart and living different lives, which is certainly a negative for an individual and society as a whole.

To conclude, the active job market and urban facilities are major reasons to move-in to the big cities but it is predicted that associated side-effects on the environment and human life are quite threatening in long-run.