In many countries, people are living in a “throwaway society” where things are used for a short time and thrown away. What are the causes of this and what problems does it lead to?

Nowadays, use and throw phenomenon is quite prevalent in most of the countries. This essay will first discuss the major element lead to this trend, followed by the most pressing issues associated with this behaviour.

The busy lifestyle of the young generation is a primary reason to consume things for a short-term and then discard them. People don't want to spend time from their busy schedule to choose alternative options, which take time and effort to put things in reuse state over readily available things. For example, disposable plastic cups and plates are preferred over ceramic utensils at workplaces and parties to reduce the effort of cleaning. If every individual will start using the ceramic mug at the workplace then the amount of plastic waste produced daily can be reduced significantly.

The foremost problem caused by this tendency is environmental degradation. As plastic is non-degradable substance, the various methods such as landfills, incineration and dumping into the seas result in environmental pollution. Firstly, plastic waste, when dumped into the ground, makes the soil less fertile. Secondly, the burning of plastic litter makes the air quality poor to breathe because of the harmful gases such as carbon dioxide and methane released into the air. Lastly, the plastic debris dumped into oceans adversely affects sea life because of these toxic substances are consumed by the sea animals such as whales and turtles.

To conclude, the missing sense of responsibility to reuse the items by youngsters due to their long working hours is the main reason for consuming and discarding behaviour, which ultimately affects the ecosystem. It is therefore estimated by considering the continuity of this trend that this will be a big threat to our planet earth in the near future.