In many countries, people are living in a “throwaway society” where things are used for a short time and thrown away. What are the causes of this and what problems does it lead to?
In the current scenario, peoples' approach to using goods for the short span and then throw it
away is the matter of grave concern as it is affecting both the environment and society. I shall
outline the underlying causes and problems in this essay.
To begin with, there are umpteen reasons why individuals are following this trend. The primary
factor is due to the change in the lifestyle of humans. In the other words, every individual has
become very busy in the hustle and bustle of the life and they do not have time to repair things
if broken, so, instead of repairing it, they prefer to buy a new one. For example, if the screen of
any smartphone gets broken, people will buy a new phone, as it takes too much of their time
and money to go to the repair shop and get it repaired.
Moreover, these days, due to the increase in the competition, everything has become so
affordable that everyone wants to remain updated. For instance, every year, every consumer
company launches a variety of latest gadgets and that also at very affordable prices, so, people
upgrade themselves by buying new models.
There are a plethora of issues due to the throwaway attitude of humans. The main problem is
the threat to the environment. Due to the excessive production of goods to meet the public
demand, the natural resources are depleting day-by-day. To illustrate, to make new furniture,
businesses are cutting a large number of trees, which results in soil erosion and flash floods.
Furthermore, when the new product is created, there are some parts which cannot be recycled.
This possesses a great threat to nature, as, they cannot be decomposed easily and thus,
produce harmful gases. These harmful gases, in turn, cause serious health disorders in both
adults and children.
In conclusion, according to the above analysis, it is evident that every human has to change the
materialistic mentality, as there are multifarious serious consequences.