More and more people are finding it increasingly important to wear fashionable clothes. Is this attitude to wearing clothes a positive development or negative?

Opinions are divided on whether the increasing need of wearing trendy clothes is a positive or negative development. I believe that the latter is the case, and wearing such clothes is more of a luxury than a necessity.

Although it is widely held belief that fashionable style of dress is essential to keep oneself up with the Joneses, in practice, this is not always the case. Evidence for this can be seen in the fact that people spend a lot of money buying these expensive designer clothes. Even after knowing the fact that the trend of such clothes keeps on changing, and purchasing these may cost a fortune to a middle-class family, they squander their hard-earned money over this and they may sometimes run into debts. This could also have adverse effects on children's minds. The effect of which could be easily identified by their increased inclination towards what to wear instead of focusing on studies. Therefore, spending on such clothes does not have long-term benefits, and not everyone would prefer to buy these.

In fact, far from being important to carry trendy garments, this is a negative trend for the reasons related to acceptability and comfortability. With regard to the former, such trendy clothes are not widely accepted, especially at most religious places as well as at work. The one wearing such clothes would be strictly prohibited from entering such places. As far as comfortability is concerned, such designer clothes are specifically tailored to meet the demands of celebrities for a special occasion, and wearing such clothes on daily basis by the common man is not comfortable. For these reasons, the attitude to give so much importance to wear fashionable clothes should be considered negative as most prefer to avoid wearing those.

In conclusion, instead of being the need, such designer clothes are part of a luxurious lifestyle. Having said that, the proposition of increasing importance to wear fashionable clothes is a negative development as it is not suitable for everyone.