The movement of people from villages to cities for work can cause serious problems in both places. What are the serious problems associated with this? What measures can be taken to solve these problems?

Urbanization in need of a job causes significant problems related to traffic congestion and shortage of food. The respective measures could be taken by the government to solve these problems.

The most serious problems associated with the migration of people from the countryside to metropolitan cities are traffic jams and food scarcity. With regard to the former, the ease with which the village population is migrating towards metro cities is a great concern to the increased number of vehicles on the roads. Many people in urban areas drive to work, which creates severe traffic problems, especially during peak hours. Another problem associated with urban migration is the food shortage as the population in cities will increase which give rise to the sprawling urban areas. As a result of which, rural land would be utilized by the commercial industries, and in the end, there would be no land left for agriculture and farmers would not have any land available to produce crops.

The solution to these problems lies in the hands of the government. As far as traffic jam is concerned, the government should work on widening of the roads and increase public transport. Once metros have wider roads and public is offered with good public buses and local trains, the problem of traffic congestion would be solved automatically as everyone's preferable mode of transportation would be public transport. Which in turn drastically reduces the number of private vehicles on the road. Turning to the scarcity of food, the government should come up with some agricultural projects and set the minimum wage for the field workers so that they do not feel the need for urban migration. Not only would this prevent urban cities to expand, but it would save the farming land, which could be utilized to produce an abundance of crops.

In conclusion, in response to the scarcity of food caused by urbanization, the government needs to take responsibility for the agricultural projects. As for traffic jams, wider roads, and better public transportation could be the possible solution.