Young people are often influenced by their peers. Do the advantages of peer pressure outweigh the disadvantages?

Opinions are divided on whether the benefits of peer pressure outweigh the drawbacks. I believe that the positive influence of peers is too significant that its drawbacks could be reduced by parents monitoring their children's activity.

It is a widely held belief that negative peer pressure degrades children's grades and could cause anxiety and depression. With regard to the former, friends could be responsible for diverting youngsters' focus from studies to illegal activities which in turn is harmful from their academic career point of view. Examples of this can be seen in their involvement in illicit activities, such as consuming drugs and getting involved in the robbery. The negative influence could be responsible for anxious behavior and unhappiness. When children participating in activities with which they are not comfortable and that are against their moral values, they feel bad about it and get disturbed.

However, the above-mentioned negative reasons could be minimized by proper parental supervision and turn them into benefits. By keeping an eye on their child's activity and giving them time to time guidance could help them to understand the good and bad aspects of peer pressure and ways to deal with such things in their life. Another advantage of peer pressure is that they always encourage to perform new and creative activities. In fact, they always motivate the youngsters to select the tasks which are beneficial from their career perspective, such as taking part in a science competition and showcase their talent through creativity, not only would which boost their confidence, but also achieve a great height of success.

In conclusion, although the negative effects of peer pressure could not be ignored, they can be reduced by timely parental supervision. I believe that the positive impact of peers is more advantageous than its drawbacks for the reasons mentioned above.