Young people are often influenced by their peers. Do the advantages of peer pressure outweigh the disadvantages?

Opinions are divided on whether the benefits of peer pressure outweigh its drawbacks. I believe that the negative influence of peers is too serious to support the positive side.

It is a widely held belief that peers could play a positive role in youngsters' life for the reasons related to providing support and practising socialization. With regard to the former, friends push each other to do new things and explore new ideas, which boost their self-esteem and help them to solve challenging problems. Encouraging each other this way enables them to gain valuable experiences. As for being socialized, children learn different social norms when being a part of a group. Not only would this help them to adapt to different situations but also enable them to decide which group is suitable for them to fit in.

However, far from being always benefitted, the negative peer pressure could be more dangerous for children. This is due to the fact that its adverse impact could cause anxiety and depression when children start participating in those activities with which they are not comfortable and even sometimes, those are against their moral values. As a consequence of this, they feel bad about themselves, as well as mentally disturbed. Pressuring to engage in risky behaviour is another major disadvantage that could lead them to focus on less sociable pursuits including illegal ones, some of which may be violent or drug-related.

In conclusion, although peers influence each other positively, their adverse effects cannot be neglected. I believe that the fact that youngsters might not be directed towards constructive activities with negative peer pressure, and the risks related to their mental health are too severe to justify the advantages.