Culture and traditions change from generation to generation. Why does this happen? What can be done to change it?

There is a paradigm shift in civilization and customs in different eras. This essay will first suggest the globalization, technological advancements and philosophical ideas behind this phenomenon and later, submit the possible ways to preserve our cultural and traditional practices among different generations.

The primary cause of cultural change is the effect of globalization and the advancement in technology. In ancient time, there was no mode of communication between different tribes and all the beliefs and practices used to be local and were followed by the next generation in the same way. But now with the usage of the internet, people from different societies or countries are closely connected and are heavily influenced by each other's culture. For instance, there is a significant change in the dressing style of Indian people from the past few decades due to the influence of western societies and in modern time, the young generation prefers western attire than a traditional ethnic one. In addition to this, philosophical ideas also drive a change in customs. For instance, in an earlier time, the majority of people were illiterate and farming was the common practice but with the passage of time, people become educated and learnt different skills to work in different areas, such as medical, engineering and art. Therefore, the aforementioned factors drive a change in traditional values.

Some changes in myths are necessary and are acceptable for development, such as misconceptions associated with religion. Slaughtering of animals is a prime example, which our ancestors associated with the happiness of God but in the current time, it has been prevented with the enforcement of animal rights by considering it as a brutal treatment with animals. On the other hand, the historical culture of many countries is being exploited by western culture over time. As the young generation has a sketchy knowledge about the historical culture and mere respect for the ethical values followed by their elders. Therefore, there is a need to preserve it with the help of media, such as advertisements and movies. Parents can also play a vital role to teach their children the importance of the ancient culture.

To conclude, the transformation in cultural and traditional practices is obvious over time due to the exposure to cutting-edge technology and ideological views but there is a need to understand what changes are for the benefit of the society and what we need to preserve among different generations.