Directors of large organizations earn much higher salaries than ordinary employees do. Some people think it is necessary, but others are of the opinion that it is unfair. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

Opinions are divided on whether the fact that CEOs of large companies earn significantly higher than ordinary workers is indispensable or unfair. I believe that the latter is the case under most circumstances, nevertheless, there are some examples of CEOs who justify higher pay.

The idea of huge paycheques to directors is advocated by people due to the fact that they deserve it. The belief is that they are key to the success of any company and there are a limited number of candidates who have the skills, the personality and the disposition to be at the higher position of a company. As the board of directors bring profit to an organization, they are identified as an asset of a company. It is also thought that their lifelong experience, strategic business skills and not everyone is capable enough to take their role, make them a highflier and more attractive candidate for a company to pay high.

In contrast, the above arguments can be rejected on the grounds of pay ratio inequality, and the fact that role of an average chief executive officer is overstated. With regard to the former, the huge income gap promotes disparity between employees at the top and the bottom positions, which means it creates a sense of immorality among mediocre workers that it takes them years to earn a sum of money, which a managing director would earn in a month. As far as the role of most top executives is concerned, the job of the average executive officer, which is a managerial type and that has neither founded a business nor been a visionary is overemphasized. In fact, some of the entrepreneurs, such as Steve Jobs at Apple and Elon Musk at Tesla, are exceptional talents who have forged revolutionary technologies from the ground up and deserved to be paid much higher than an ordinary employee.

In conclusion, I believe that usually, it is inequitable to have a much higher remuneration of the company's directors than a median worker. However, there are some examples of CEOs in favour of their high salary packages because of their extraordinary skills.