Young people are often influenced by their peers. Do the advantages of peer pressure outweigh the disadvantages?

Humans are known to be social animal, who willingly or unwillingly tend to socialize with others aiming to initiate a relationship for exchange of traits. Most often, youngsters in school share a symbiotic relationship, which potentially affects their overall development in numerous ways. Debatably, a logical explanation of mutual trait exchange among students is quite subtle; however, simplified merits and demerits are detailed in forthcoming paragraphs.

Irrefutably, a companion’s influence plays a critical role in the overall development of child’s conscience and personality, while its positivity relies on the quality of fellowship. Moreover, since people improvise themselves being on the ground of friendly competency among peers, a student’s academics and communication capabilities are pivotally reliant on peers as well. This potentially portrays the need of an academically favorable companionship for a school-goer. The most basic categorization can vividly be based on the level of dominance.

Despite lucrative benefits of having an advantageous social circle in school, circumstantial factors hindering conscience may sometimes lead youngsters towards the bad company. While initial goal of majority of students is improvised grades, the highly dominant students have been observed to have forcibly influenced other students into off-goal activities like smoking, alcohol consumption etcetera. Moreover, peer pressure caused flunks have been vividly evident in most schools as an outcome of the symbiotically toxic friendships that children fall into.

Summing up, I believe that merits and demerits of peer influence is unconditionally dependent on the person’s choice of friends. Looking onto the solution, parents must find themselves responsible for keeping a check on their offspring’s company to ensure better upbringing, because the destructive possibilities of child’s career by dominant peers outweigh the potential benefits of a good amity.