In some countries, most people prefer to rent a house rather than buying one. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of renting.

Instead of buying a property, renting a house for accommodation has become increasingly popular in certain countries. This growing trend has its own benefits and drawbacks.

With regard to signing an agreement to occupy a house on lease, it is advantageous for those who switch their occupation in a short span of time. By doing so, they don't need to purchase all the essential utilities required for daily usage. In fact, it is the owners' responsibility to provide all the amenities along with maintenance included. At the time of relocation from one country to another, one need not pay even a single penny from his pocket to get their essentials transported. Another example in favor of renting an apartment is the skyrocket prices to purchase an independent house and pay monthly pocket burning installments. A conclusion came out of a recent study by "The Times", that due to increasing rates of residential apartments, people are favoring rented properties.

However, there are some disadvantages associated with renting a house for accommodation from an investment point of view. Looking at the inflation rate, if families keep squandering money on rents, then after a certain amount of time it would be difficult for them to purchase their own house. Therefore, it is sometimes advised that people should invest in buying a house and the money which they are spending on rent can be used to pay installments. However, at the initial stage, this could be a big decision for an individual but in the long run, it will be beneficial for his/her family.

To conclude, renting is advantageous if people want to stay in a country for a short duration. However, it is disadvantageous as one can not build his/her own house if he continues to stay in a rented apartment.