Some people believe that nowadays too much money is being spent on weddings and birthdays. Why do you think it is happening? What can be done to improve the situation?

Opinions are divided on why many people spend a large amount of money on the events like wedding and birthday parties. I believe that the main reason behind this is maintaining social status, and the solution lies in spreading awareness by various means.

Glorious events are hosted for the reasons related to making them memorable and to keep up with the Joneses. With regard to the former, marriages are considered to be the most important event of one's life, and to make it unforgettable one spends a lot of his fortune on it. For this reason, an individual hires a prominent wedding planner who helps one by various means, such as, finalizing a spectacular location, showcasing creative decorating ideas, and providing mouth-watering varieties of food. Turning to maintain social status, individuals flaunt their wealth and spend their hard-earned money on lavish invitation cards and expensive return gifts for the guests. By doing so, they go into debt or sometimes go bankrupt.

As for the solutions, the involvement of the government and celebrities could help to improve the causes mentioned above. As far as the government is concerned, they should circulate a notice or a bill stating the number of public gatherings in the events like marriages and birthday parties. Not only would this limit the number of guests, but it could also save many from going bankrupt. Celebrities could also play a vital role by spreading awareness through their real-life example. This could be achieved if they set an example of an economical marriage than a luxurious one. As a result of this, people get inspiration from their so-called role models and do not squander their torture on such events.

In conclusion, people spend their wealth to showcase their social status and go into debt. However, such causes could be alleviated by spreading awareness through celebrities and with the involvement of the government.