Some people believe that nowadays too much money is being spent on weddings and birthdays. Why do you think it is happening? What can be done to improve the situation?

Opinions are divided on why people spend lavishly on occasions, such as weddings and birthdays. I believe that it is caused by peer pressure and to make these events memorable, and the situation could be improved by spreading awareness.

Grand celebrations are hosted for reasons related to keeping up with the Joneses and to create a phenomenal experience. With regard to the former, this trend of lavish weddings and birthday parties is popular to maintain the social status and to please the guests with a lavish invitation card, luxurious venue, gastronomical delights and elaborate gifts, as well as being the norm. As for making it a perfect day, bride and groom or the parents of children hosting a first birthday party expect this auspicious day to be perfect in all ways and to do so, they spend extravagantly on hiring wedding planners, decoration, designer clothes and photography so that they can cherish this moment lifetime and seek the guests' attention. Social media and movies are also responsible for their mind programming and creating such ideas and opinions.

Creating awareness programs to promote the benefits of ordinary celebrations offer the best chance to improve this situation of extravagant events. As far as spreading awareness is concerned, government-sponsored advertisements and movies could encourage the members of the public to spend less on weddings and birthday parties. These programs could be promoted by glamorous celebrities by setting themselves as an example for ordinary people to follow. Another policy that could be introduced is to limit the number of guests in such events or by setting a cap on maximum spending and imposing a fine for those who disobey the instructions. By doing so, people would be encouraged to spend less.

In conclusion, people squander money on auspicious occasions because of the influence of their peers. This situation could be alleviated by introducing new policies and awareness programs.