The movement of people from villages to cities for work can cause serious problems in both

places. What are the serious problems associated with this? What measures can be taken to

solve these problems?

Urbanisation presents urban and rural spaces with some serious problems in relation to congested roads and food scarcity. The solution to these problems lies in the appropriate use of government funds.

The most serious problems associated with rural-urban migration are related to traffic congestion and food shortage. With regard to the former, overpopulation in cities promotes an increasing number of private vehicles on city roads and causes traffic jams during rush hours, which makes people late to work and also difficult for them to inhale fresh air. As far as the countryside is concerned, the use of agricultural land to make room for more accommodation and commercial developments puts pressure on the food supply. As people migrate to cities, the increase in urban demand and loss of agricultural land makes it difficult for farmers to grow crops and produce food.

The role of the government among other measures could offer the best chance to solve the above-mentioned problems. As for solving the traffic problem, building widen roads and investing funds to improve the public transport system could reduce the congestion on roads, as there would be more lanes and people would be encouraged to use public transport facilities. Another step that could be taken by the administration is to launch new agricultural projects and fix the minimum wage for field workers so that they do not feel the need to migrate to cities. This would prevent urban sprawling and thereby enable the farmers to produce food.

In conclusion, urbanisation causes issues in both metropolitans and villages in terms of increased traffic and food shortage. These problems can be alleviated by investing public funds in improving roads infrastructure and public transportation and introducing projects in favour of farmers.