Nowadays older people often live in retirement homes with people of their own age instead of living with their children. Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent times, it has become very common that older people instead of living with their families, they usually reside in old age homes with others of the same age group. In my opinion, it is a negative development for our society and family foundation. This essay will consider some major negatives in further discussion.

Firstly, after retirement, these people are dependent on youngsters for various activities. At the age of sixty or more, it is expected to have health issues which demand regular and proper checkups and follow-ups. Hence, they require their children rather than people of the same age. Furthermore, many officials work like bank accounts maintenance or pension collection, demand in-personal facility so to complete such activities some family member should always escort them to their destination.

Secondly, the movement of senior citizens from home to retirement homes has weakened the family's strength. Elderly people have experiences of different situations in life. With their guidance young generation can easily cope with obstacles in life. Additionally, elder people strengthen the bond of family and society with their patience and life lessons. For example, during childhood, grandparents tell different stories to their grandchildren which helps to develop moral values in them.

To conclude, older people are an essential part of family and society. Their guidance and experiences do not only help in strengthening family relationships but also help to fight some adverse situations of life. Thus, they should be kept with family not other people of their own age.