Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed.

What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

In the modern world, parenthood has become a discussed topic. People believes that children suffer exaggerate pressure from their parents to prosper in life. In the essay below I will further explain the reasons for this attitude and give my point of view.

The main reason for this attitude from parents is due the competitive environment that our society created. In this environment people have to succeed, they aim to get to the top all the time in all aspects of their lives. For instance, baby’s parent tend to overstimulate them to talk, walk or eat before the average. In addition, when children achieve the school age, they expected high grades or awards. Moreover, in high school they expected their springs to be chosen by a top university. Furthermore, as young adults they expected good jobs and a good spouse.

In addition, some believes that another reason for that is because parents desire that their children succeed in aspects that themselves was not able to do well, and this triggers another problem, that is the parents obfuscated their children own desires or they do not respect their children individuality.

Some parents believe that this approach motivate children to always pursue their best performance. Furthermore, this method will help them to develop fast and efficiently. For example, parents believe that this attitudes in high school will help their children study more and reach good grades, as a result this will lead to a good university nomination.

On the other hand, some studies shows that this kind of approach can triggers stress, eating disorders, anxiety and even depression. Some psychologists explain that this attitude can lead to a frustrate individual once it is quite hard to succeed all the time. Therefore this can develop adults that are disturb or unhappy with their own achievements.

To conclude, some parents tend to exaggerate on their expectations for their children realizations. Despite this can be seen as an efficient approach, it is important to respect their children individuality.