Nowadays, people are spending more time away from their homes because they spend longer hours in their workplace. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

It has been seen that people become more workaholic and prefer to spend longer hours on office rather than home. It is mainly due to incline in competition and desire to uplift their standard of living. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of overtime on individuals and their family with feasible conclusion.

To begin with, in the present scenario the competition among youngsters to achieve success in their life is at high rate. Everyone is in the race of getting life better than others. Therefore, working for longer hours provide means to have all comfort of life’s by earning extra money. Furthermore, when an employee work with energy and motivated towards his work even if he work till late night then it not only enhance his productivity and chances of promotions but also raises the profits of company. Hence, it is a win-win situation for employee as well as employer. For example it is published in the article of Tribune newspaper that percentage of overtime workers are inclined to it’s four fold as compare to the past.

However, it’s impacts on the relationship can not be denied. When people spend most of their time on workplace then they hardly get time for their family which further give birth to issues such as lack of bonding, disputes etc. Thus, it reduces their productivity at work place and work it as an obligation instead with interest. Besides this, people have hectic schedule and do work in same position for long time then it also affects their health and leads to medical problems like obesity, heart attack, blood pressure problems, etc. It impairs their quality of life and reduces life expectancy.

In conclusion, no doubt overtime give chance to earn more money and experience but people should consider that overload doesn’t give good impact to their personal commitments. It is suggested that individuals must know how to keep balance between professional and personal commitments.