Nowadays people buy a lot of things even though they don’t really need them.

Why is it happening, in your opinion? Is it a positive or negative trend for the individual and the society?

Nowadays, advertising turns into a profitable industry all over the world and it could dominate almost all aspects of human's lives in various ways. People are more interested in shopping and sometimes buy dispensable items that they do not even need. I believe this is the impact of adverts that could manipulate people's mind and tempt them to buy more things. While it could improve the economy of different nations, I believe that the negative effects are not only on the budget of the family but also on children's health.

In today's competitive business market companies need a way to introduce their new products to their customers and it is possible for them by advertising their new commodities. Furthermore, they try to convince individuals that they would live a happier life through purchasing new items and thy entice people to buy unnecessary things. To support my claim, I can refer to an article having been published in Times magazine, indicates that England could boost the economy of the country in 2008 by increasing the advertisements on TV, Radio and internet.

There are various reasons why I would argue that this is a negative trend. Firstly, the majority of these adverts target the children who are vulnerable and can be influenced by the ads easily by showing sharp and attractive colors that touch their heart. Consequently, children put pressure on their parents by nagging or pestering to force them buying unhealthy products that have detrimental effects on their health such as fast food. A salient example of this is the MacDownald Company that boosts its income up to 60% by advertising on TV and in the middle of children's programs. Secondly, it would be a severe threat to the budget of the family who are impressed by these ads and buy unnecessary items.

In conclusion, advertisement industry brings a large amount of money for companies. Although it provide more job opportunities for the people, it threats the family's budget and health.