Nowadays, people make new friends through social networks and internet chat groups. Some people think this is good. Others think that face to face interaction is essential.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, it is considered appropriate to have online friendships by using various social media platforms and group chat applications, while some opine that physical interaction is mandatory. In my opinion, I believe that making friends through social networks is much easier and time-saving option.

On the one hand, connecting to people online with the aid of numerous social networking websites such as Facebook, Twitter, Orkut and chatting applications like whats app and Skype is convenient and simple. To do so, one has to create an account on these websites or applications by filling some basic details, and after that, he or she can simply explore the people of his or her interest. What is more, this method saves a lot of time and money. In other words, there is no need to spend time travelling to a particular place in a meeting with new people.

On the other hand, it is considered essential to have face to face interaction to acquaint each other better. There are chances that people could conceal their identities online, and do fraud with the innocent ones. In order to avoid such instances, personal interaction important. Recently, my friend made a female friend on Facebook, and he shared his debit card details with her without knowing much about her. After two days, he came to know that all of his money from that bank account was being stolen by someone illegally. Thus, one has to be extra cautious about such incidents before making online friends.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that online friendly conversations may lead to some serious risks, however, it can be prevented by confirming the exact identity of the person on the other side. Therefore, I would prefer social networking applications to have chatting and friendship with strange people.