Nowadays people make new friends through social networks and internet chat groups. Some people think this is good. Others think that face-to-face interaction is essential. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People today are living in a virtual world with friends and families connected on social media platforms rather than interacting physically. While it is believed by some that the advent of social media has helped people to stay connected, others argue that this has reduced personal interactions. I believe that though the social media has helped people to connect with more people, it has also made them less social in real world. This essay will discuss both sides of the scale; followed by a reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, social media has helped people to stay connected irrespective of physical boundaries. New generation that grew in the internet age, are ardent users of these platforms, which help them to make friends with same interests and likeness. Moreover, people can stay connected to their old acquaintances irrespective of distances. For instance, a recent survey by a leading media house indicated that the likeliness of using social media is rapidly increasing among the 30-55 years age group, which view it as a tool to stay connected with extended family and friends and a cheaper alternative to phones and telegrams.

On the contrary, the social network has also become a misnomer. Youngsters today spend most if their time on platforms like Facebook, Instagram or Snapchat; leaving very little time for family interaction. Everywhere from metro, office or home, people appear hooked to these sites and pay very little attention to their surroundings. Moreover, the physical interactions between friends and families have decreased and have become limited to like, comment or an emoji on social media. As a matter of fact, a recent study by Google showed that on an average people spend 60% of their phone time browsing social media websites and an average person spends 2.5 hours on mobile.

To conclude, although social media has helped people to stay in touch in a cheaper and most convenient way; this has made people less gregarious as interaction has been limited to a small mobile screen.