Some parents believe that reading books for entertainment is a waste of time for children and they think that their children should only read serious educational books.

books are a great source of entertainment and they can be child’s best friend. while reading is for pleasure, many parents find that reading entertainment is a waste of time and focus should be made to read books that provide academic knowledge. I strongly disagree with this, and this essay will further elaborate on my reasons for this disapproval.

To begin with, anything that is done out of sheer pleasure and interest yields better results. Reading if forced creates a burden on the reader’s mind. To always associate it with academics will take away the interest and make it a part of a curriculum. Moreover, kids have wider imagination then adults, they can imagine things beyond the perfection of the existing world, they love to read books that help them to create a colorful world and this power of imagination should be left unbridled.

Furthermore, Elders should help kids to make friends with books. Hence, they should let them choose books according to their interests. The encounter with academics and serious content is inevitable in life but interest in reading will help them to sail through the academic burden. entertainment can come either from reading stories that are non-fictional but offer an alternative view of the world or through realistic stories, the choice, however, be left upon an individual. For Instance, The Harry Potter stories that were part of my childhood provided me the reprieve from mundane school life while the real-life stories of our freedom struggle provided me the deep insight into our past.

In the end, I would conclude by saying that let books become the fodder for young minds. let parents become part of the child’s stories and not dictate the content unless the content is unsuitable. let the child pick up the book he likes and help him create an unbridled imagination of umpteen thoughts.