Some people believe that women should play an equal role as men in a country’s police force or military force, such as the army, while others think women are not suitable for these kinds of jobs. What is your opinion?

The world today is witnessing an emergence of women power from world leader to space technology. But the only role that divides opinion is the entry of women in police forces or military. While some people believe that the entry into combative roles should be limited to men, others believe in providing equal role to women in every field. I believe that the women should not enter war scenes but can be part of police force and this essay will elaborate on my reasons.

To begin with, women can provide decisive role as a police officer. There have been many examples of women who rose to ranks while serving in male-dominated police forces. These women became inspirations for many other girls and stood as a bright example in a patriarchal society like India. For Instance, Dr. Kiran Bedi, was the first women IPS officer in India, became a role model for women empowerment and was eulogized for her role in transforming one of the most notorious jails in India, the Tihar Jail.

However, the role of women in army has been restricted to provide the backend support. This results from an apprehension, that women have physical constraints and their role in defense services cannot be at par with their male counterparts. Additionally, women serving on border along the enemy lines are more prone to war crimes. Consequentially, though the women enjoy greater autonomy in naval and air forces, their participation in territorial forces is limited. This difference between male and female participation is not an epitome of an orthodox society but in line with the nature’s way of differentiating between the two sexes.

In conclusion, I believe that there exist certain qualification criteria for an entry into every field and these criteria’s make women unsuitable for combative roles along borders. However, this restriction does not make the egalitarian view of the society apocryphal.