Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

Wastage of food has increased manifold recently. There is a general problem of people filling their plate with more than what they can eat and conveniently throwing the leftover to bin. This essay will elaborate upon the reasons behind the increased wastage of eatables and steps that can be taken to reduce this problem.

To begin with, with economic prosperity people these days have much wider options to choose from. When offered with so many options, people often fill more then what they can eat. Most of these folks without knowing the rigorous process that takes places to bring food from farms to the dining table, easily throw away the leftover items to bin. The best example of this, the world superpower, America, which wastes more food than any other country in the world. While, in many poor countries, people often find it difficult to arrange basic meal. This difference between the haves and have nots is conveniently forgotten when piles of food is wasted each time.

The glaring problem of food wastage needs involvement of communities and individuals. Communities should run campaigns to raise awareness among people about importance of food. In these awareness programs, schools and offices can become the platform to run such campaigns. Moreover, it has been observed that most of the food is wasted after parties, hence, organizers should tie up with the NGOs to distribute the leftover food to needy people. In addition to these, governments can regulate the wastage by charging higher taxes or penalties on households with the kitchen wastage more than a threshold.

To conclude, increasing wastage of food is a serious problem that needs to be tackled at an individual, community and governmental level. People should be made to realize that while they conveniently throw the food, there is someone who goes to bed empty stomach.