Many people today use their phones for sending texts more than talking. What are the reasons for this? Are there more advantages than disadvantages?

In today’s changing world, ways to communication has seen a significant change got changed. While previously, people preferred to call, but now they prefer text. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this change and it’s positive as well as negative impacts; followed by a reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, one of the major advantage of text communication is that one can communicate with multiple people simultaneously. They can send messages to his colleague, friends and family at the same time rather than talking to a person at a time. In this way, they save their time and communicate to many persons in a day. Due to the technological advancements, now multiple messaging services are providing services which ease the usage of text communication and promote its usage. For example, they send notification to the sender about the time when the receiver receives the message, or reads the message. Another main reason for this change is the hectic lifestyle, now a days people have less time to talk over phone sometime one person is free and the other gets busy and vice versa. It also ease out the receiver as he can choose to reply as per his convenience.

However, there are certain disadvantages as well, at the time of emergency a person is required to wait for the receiver to respond if they are talking on text. Sometimes people shares important and sensitive information as a form of text which leads to financial loss as well. For instance, a news daily has reported a incidence, where a person shared his email password with his wife as a text message and a week later his account got hacked. Upon investigation, it has been found the person who hacked his mailbox was his close friend who had access to his phone.

To conclude, though the advantages outweighs the disadvantages a person should always avoid to share sensitive information like Bank details, passwords over text messages.