Many people today use their phones for sending texts more than talking. What are the reasons for this? Are there more advantages than disadvantages?

To majority of smartphone user’s communication via typing is the most widespread method compared with conversation by ordinary calls. Drawing on observations, I would contend that message sending software’s perks such as being inexpensive and convenient means of communication outweigh its only setback in being slow way of information transfer.

In no way speed of speaking via cellular phone with respect to pace of texting to be understated. To some individuals what makes sending messages boring is the need to input characters thus they prefer to chat via phone instead. A vivid example is the explanation of complex theories, events, plans etc. where people do not possess much time to waste on typing, accordingly they prefer instant call in order to explain it faster.

Notwithstanding slow speed of text writing, the reason why texting is so popular is that it is low-cost and comfortable communication technique. Firstly, prices of SMS sending dropped significantly in the last decade, hence majority undoubtedly benefits from it. A striking example is the SMS sending among students in Azerbaijan, who are the main crowd using this low-cost opportunity. Secondly, advanced development of texting applications made the messaging advantageous for several purposes. It is the texting programs that not only users, but also advertisement companies use when sending social messages to large number of people. At the same time, practical advantage of texting software is that it can be used when called person is sleeping or driving therefore unable to answer the call immediately.

In conclusion, by learning to text faster in order to match the speed of telephone talks, messaging is dominating type of communication due to its being inexpensive than calling and comfortable with its technological advancements such as ability in being transferred to several people instantly.