While recruiting a new employee, the employer should pay more attention to their personal qualities, rather than qualifications and experience. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and include relevant examples.

Companies today are more stringent in their hiring process than ever before. The hiring managers are always in a dilemma to choose between good interpersonal skills and qualifications. While some people think that more attention should be paid to personal qualities the other section argue qualifications and experience should be the only selection criteria. I believe that both forms an important aspect of the candidate. This essay will discuss the importance of both personal skills and qualification along with experience in candidate selection; followed by a reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, different jobs require a different kind of selection criteria, but all the white-collar jobs are mostly in search of a candidate that is highly qualified and have good working experience. However, the companies also know that qualification is not the only criteria for survival in this competitive environment. There are other qualities that are also deemed necessary to judge whether the candidate can handle the job pressure, make the right decision and work in a team. These search of a candidate with the mix of both personal skills and high qualification and relevant working experience have led companies to scrutinize the applicants with behavioral interview rounds.

Moreover, people today work in a global environment where teams are part of a global network. The employees are in constant pressure not just to handle work but to get along people from different cultural backgrounds. While, education and qualification yields confidence, good communication skills along with team management skills help to handle such large and diverse crowd. Therefore, its incumbent over the HR department to select candidates on both the criteria. For instance, a scholar can not always be a good teacher, as to become a teacher, a person must have patience and maintain sangfroid, along with having good knowledge of the subject.

To conclude, I would say both the personal skills and the qualifications with experience are two sides of the same coin. Both are necessary to survive in today’s competitive environment. A job can receive a thousand of applications with the same qualification but in the end, a person with the right attitude will make it to the top.