Some people think that having people from different nationalities and cultural backgrounds living together in the same country makes the country develop faster. Do you agree?

People are always on move and in constant search for new places since historical times. There is a belief that societies formed by people of different backgrounds and cultures tend to develop faster. I partially agree with the above statement and the essay below will discuss the pros and cons of this migration followed by a reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, People move to different countries for many reasons example in search of a job or better opportunities, to escape war or persecution, etc. The countries accepting the immigrants may benefit from the migration if migrants are well educated and can be an asset to the society rather than being a liability. For example, Canada is running an immigration program to attract a talented crowd to help the economy. But migrants that come from war-ridden countries or countries plagued with the socio-economic problems often become a headache for the welcoming nation. For Instance, the Cologne city in Germany saw the sexual harassment of 1000 girls by the Arabs and African immigrants.

Moreover, though vibrant cultures and traditions reflect the secular values of the country, it is incumbent upon the immigrants to accept the law and order of the new nation. The new age fear of migrants stealing the jobs of natives or breaking law and order has resulted in xenophobia. In contrast to this, there are countries fully formed and developed by migrants who all co-exist in a peaceful environment and live by the constitution of the country.

To conclude, though living with people with different cultural background and nationalities promotes harmony but every individual irrespective of their background should live by the constitution of the country.