In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Customers today prefer to make a purchase from a big shopping mall or a shopping center resulting in the decline of local shops and traders. I believe that this change in preference has positive outcomes. This essay will first discuss the advantages of the shopping mall for customers; secondly the economic advantages; followed by a reasoned conclusion.

first, shopping malls helps to bring all national and international brands under one roof. This congregation of all the brands saves customer’s time and provide him with ample choices to shop. These places not only cater to the shopping needs of the people but also act as a spot for recreational activities like cinema, indoor games, and food courts. Consequently, in cities where public space is limited, the shopping malls have become a hub for family outings and get-togethers as most of these places are weather controlled and save people from scorching heat and chilling cold outside.

Secondly, they have not only proved fructuous for buyers but have also provide an income boost for traders. The entry of international brands has bought an investment and has open job opportunities for locals. For example, the opening of the Walmart store in India was regarded as a big boost to foreign direct investment. Moreover, they have also proven themselves to be a flourishing ground for entertainment businesses. As most of the movie halls and big sports chains today prefer shopping malls as their location to attract a large number of potential customers.

To conclude, shopping malls have galvanized the way people shop. These centers not only cater to the shopping needs but have also proven to be a recreational hub and the entry of multinational brands with them has only added to the government’s coffer.