In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

To cater the “one-stop” needs of customers, more modern shopping complexes have been established recently; however, as a consequence local boutique stores have vanished gradually. In my opinion, this is a trend that is devastating to the society. This essay will elaborate more on the reasons behind.

The community will lose color because of the closure of these shops. In other words, it would cause damage to local culture and diversity. Restaurants and shops in shopping malls are often owned by large corporate groups. The products or services from these company groups are usually similar like factory production, while local businesses offer more creative and authentic products. In Hong Kong, there are often complaints on the lack of support on these outlets and the government has tried to develop policies to help the start-ups to encourage innovation. This is crucial for the daily lives of the residents.

The issue also affects the tourism and hence the economy of the country. Visitors of the country will lose interests due to the diminishing of shops with unique products and characters. According to a recent survey on foreigners’ favorite in Hong Kong, local handcrafts are the top 5 aspects that they would like to explore in the area. They may travel to Hong Kong less due to the loss of uniqueness of the city. For example, if the area is full of chain stores and luxury brands like KFC and Gucci, the tourists will definitely find no reason to travel in Hong Kong because these restaurants and merchandises can also be found elsewhere. The thriving of the local businesses will certainly promote the economy of the town.

To recapitulate, current expansion of shopping plazas is damaging to the society. The government should investigate more on the issue and try to alleviate the problem by subsidies and corporation with the global institutions and local stores.