In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there.

What is your opinion?

Living in a dream house is everybody’s most wanted wish. However, many people in Hong Kong do not afford to buy a reasonable place to live due to the soaring price. With increasing demand, some suggested to build new houses in the countryside, while others claimed that it should be protected so houses should not be built there. I think the government should make a policy to produce more homes even in the countryside so as to deal with the high demand as soon as possible.

Lack of housing is the number one urging social problem in the city. No land is available for new building in the city centre and the surrounding developed areas. According to the latest land usage review report, it stated that more than 95% of unused land is situated in the countryside. It seems that development in rural areas is the only way to cope with the issue. It will be wise not to waste the untouched natural resource by expanding the city and let people live in a garden view estates.

The opposite recommended to redevelop older districts to reserve country parks. In the contrary, this suggestion might take decades to complete a project. There would be a lot of tedious legal and social issues to be resolved. Developers have to buy the land of an existing building while the owners may not be easy to find, so it makes the negotiation difficult. Also, neighbourhood and the general public would concern the safety and pollution problem caused the construction site in the middle of a crowded street. However, developing outside urban areas has fewer restrictions. Therefore, it could be a faster choice to get people a home.

In conclusion, the price of housing is increasing as population growth, and most urban areas are fully occupied. Development in the countryside is the fastest way to rectify the angry voice from the people.