Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Under the competitive work environment nowadays, employees are having a hectic schedule at work every day while enjoying limited room for their personal lives. Although working days and nights has its benefits, the harms it created outweigh the goods. This essay will elaborate the reasons behind.

Admittedly, people can be benefited from spending more time at their companies. For some employees, they can accumulate more wealth as their remuneration depends on the actual working hours. In other words, some people get paid when they work. Also, some bankers in top financial institutions like J.P. Morgan and Morgan Stanley prefer to work diligently to secure their place in the companies. Workers can obtain both job security and income. However, the setbacks of devoting themselves into work only may offset or even undermine the benefits.

Health issues, both physical and emotional, are one of the major negative impacts brought by extended working hours. If people have sufficient time off, they can spend causal time with friends and families on activities like sports and lunch gatherings. These events not only help people relieve their stress, but also help them develop a healthy lifestyle. Recent research done by the government attested that citizens who spent hours in their offices tend to have illnesses like liver cancer and depression due to the lack of exercise and high level of stress. This implies that people can suffer a high health cost despite their intention to gain more money from work. High level of stress leads to mental exhaustion which could also affects people's work performances. Working intensively can also affect job security and income negatively.

To recapitulate, spending excessive hours at work could be a way to increase income; however, the drawbacks it created can hardly be ignored and can eventually affect its benefits. People should strive for work-life balance in order to gain from both work and personal moments, healthily and wealthily.