In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there.

What is your opinion?

Living place is always wanted in many populated cities around the world. Somebody suggested to expand the boundary of the city to the countryside, but the opposition claimed that environmental reservation is key to our ecosystem. However, there is no absolute answer to the matter, but a balance is needed to keep in development at a controversial zone.

It is obvious that environmental protection is concerned by scientists and publics. Although urbanization brings people a higher standard of living, pollution issues are also brought along. Recently in Europe, mass demonstration was going on rapidly urging the governments to cope with global warming. Cutting down trees, which transpirates to regulate the air temperature, to build houses is definitely a way to worsen the situation. Therefore, remedial actions should be taken carefully when exploiting the rural areas.

In reality, lack of housing is causing other social problems. Insufficient supply with increasing demand implies higher in price. Young couplers cannot afford to buy their new home, so that many of them delay their marriage, which causes the problem of low birth rate. Also, since the government does not have adequate public housing, many elderly people who have little savings are renting low price ‘cage flat’ where is tiny, crowded and poor hygiene. The physical and psychological health of the residents are at risk. Therefore, it is urgent to build more houses.

In conclusion, housing problem is difficult to many governments among the globe. They should figure out a way to take care of their citizens, as well as guarding the environment.