In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

To cater the “one-stop” needs of customers, more modern shopping complexes have been established recently; however, as a consequence local boutique stores have vanished gradually. In my opinion, this is a trend that is devastating to the society. This essay will elaborate more on the reasons behind.

The community will lose color because of the closure of these shops. In other words, it would cause damage to local culture and diversity. Restaurants and shops in shopping malls are often owned by large corporate groups whose products or services are usually monotonous like factory production, while local businesses usually offer more creative and authentic products. In Hong Kong, there have been consistent complaints on the lack of support on these distinctive outlets and the government has developed numerous policies to support them. The development of these stores is generally crucial for the daily lives of the local residents.

The issue also affects the tourism and hence the economy of the country. Visitors will lose interests due to the diminishing of shops with unique products and characters. According to a recent survey on travelers, local handcrafts are the top 5 spots that the they would like to explore in the journey. They may travel to an area less due to the loss of uniqueness of the city. For example, if the place is full of chain stores and luxury brands like KFC and Gucci, the tourists will definitely find no reason to travel as these restaurants and merchandizes can also be found elsewhere. The thriving of local businesses will certainly promote the local economy.

To recapitulate, current expansion of department stores is damaging to the society. The government should investigate more on the issue and try to alleviate the problem by subsidies and corporation with the global institutions and local stores.