In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

It is true that new development has had an influence on societies this has affected all local and large shopping Businesses in various ways and in my opinion, there is both positive and negative affect.

On the bright side, shopping malls could provide a large variety of products that people need. Chain stores like Walmart, for example; in this kind of stores people can find anything that they need, food supplies, home decoration, electronic gadget, clothes, and many other items so that it is saving time for customers which buy from this stores, in addition, It brings multiple jobs opportunity for local people with any abilities they have, like clerk desk, security, manager, cleaner, etc. It could be improving the living standard for people who live in the shopping center neighborhood.

On the negative side, a small business has always been destroyed by large and famous businesses in any community. Small supermarkets with a maximum range of products obviously never can compete with multi-brand stores in the same area and people usually prefer to choose the biggest market for shopping. On the other hand, a small shop is losing customers and after a while, they lose their income money. So that they have to shut down their business and it is being them a lot of financial problems like bank loans, children's tuition for school and college.

In conclusion, I would argue that the benefits of large shopping centers' development for people in their daily lives outweigh the drawbacks.