In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

The behavior of shopping has changed when the economy grew. Some complains that it caused the closure of many small businesses because most people do their shopping in large shopping centers instead of buying at local stores in the neighborhood. However, I think this change is in fact making a better business environment.

First, the “invisible hand” closed these small shops, that is, the free market is the driving force in this change of economic model. Inefficient stores will fade out as their cost and expense are higher than those larger and more efficient department stores. Therefore, the price is generally cheaper in chain grocery stores, as the costs can be lowered by mass transportation and systematic storage of goods.

Also, travelling to large department stores to get all the things in one shot is convenient to shoppers. In the past, people had to travel to different places to purchase different ingredients. Nowadays, they can buy daily supplies, get meals, and order electronics, while their cars are changing engine oil in a single shopping complex. It saves a lot of time and effort of customers.

It is unfortunate that the diminishing of local shops may kill some unique and creative products. However, it is not true. They can cooperate with larger business to put their goods on one of the product shelf in a big store. The cost may be lower for them as department store provides more storage space and better promotion because more customers can see their product when browsing around. This centralizing business model helps all the parties in the market.

In conclusion, more large shopping centers and less local stores is a positive development in free market economy. Large and small businesses will be better off, and shoppers will have a easier and simpler shopping experience.