In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there.

What is your opinion?

Presently the problem of living space has risen into prominence in many places around the world. There is absolutely no way to build new houses in some cities and a lot of people suggest to carry out construction in the countryside. However, it is a heavily debatable topic introducing frequent debates.

Opponents of urbanization of formal rural areas state that it would cause a dramatic effect on the natural ecosystem of such places. The most drastic consequences are caused by infrastructure that essentially follows any human settlement – that’s, roads, power lines, means of water supply, and such. The construction of these engineering comes results in the destruction of natural biomes of ponds, rivers, and forests, causing many animals to migrate or go extinct. The arguments of environmentalists do make sense, but there are also valuable ideas supporting the countryside occupation.

First of all not even the most extreme supporters of spreading urbanization, maintain that all of the countryside should be filled with homes all over the place. In fact, there are smart illustrations of even larger cities even though not harmonical with nearby nature, but at least in some form of co-operation. Having a considerable amount of parks inside the inhabited area helps both people to feel themselves better and plants and animals to have some sort of home. If I may, to present an example, the city of Zaporizhia where I live has a large island between the ports of the city which is covered with trees and largely unoccupied, being a nice counterpart to heavily populated nearby districts.

In conclusion, I wish to stress that whereas opponents of country settlements have several valid points, things aren’t as forceful as they portray it, and also the co-existence of the human population with nature is quite possible.