Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Now-a-days, employees have less free time for their daily life leisure activities because modern organizations are enforcing people for longer working day. This could have various pros and cons, but in my opinion, the disadvantages are far more than the advantages. This essay will elaborate positive and negative impacts of increased working hours per week on both the employers and employees.

On one hand, longer working day could increase organizational productivity. As the workers are working for few extra hours, they can accomplish their two-week consignment in one week. In this way, organizations would have efficient production because labor is spending all their productive hours there in the workplace. No doubt, implementing the same strategy, Japan has excelled in textile production in the year 2017. In the year, the country increased the work week from 36 hours to 42 hours.

On the other hand, having no time for their selves will lead to increased cases of burnout. Workers will face more depression and anxiety, because all the day they are bound to do 9am to 9pm office work. It will not only cut them off from their social circle, but also disturb their family life and relationships. Whereas, it will also disturb their mental health and wellbeing. For instance, according to Japan public and private sector employee health survey, the rate of anxiety and suicides had doubled since 2017. For a long run, it is also bad for organizational growth. So, compromising workforce health just for organizational interests and profits is a not a good idea and will impact overall public wellness.

In conclusion, employees should have freedom to spend some of their relaxation time with their friends and family. Definitely, long working hours will cause few short-term advantages to the company, although deteriorating mental health of workers.