While recruiting a new employee, the employer should pay more attention to their personal qualities, rather than qualifications and experience. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and include relevant examples.

In recent years, hiring new staff for an organization has been gaining a great deal of attention for business owners and higher executives. Most importantly, it has been a bone of contention among the critics about whether an individual quality or job experience and educational certifications should be preferred. While some people believe that previous career history or success and institutional certification is vital to new employee recruitment, I would contend that the candidate's inner characteristics are more important in this context.

To begin with, the conventional approach of checking potential workers’ qualifications via their resumes, LinkedIn profiles, issued qualifications and certifications from authorized organizations is vital. Apparently, whenever we submit a job application, we are always required to attach a CV while a cover letter is optional. Without a decent qualification, even if that candidate’s personal characteristics are suitable, the enterprise will need to carry out lots of skill training eventually.

On the other hand, occasionally during an interview, some HR officers ignore the significance of assessing how candidates’ individual qualities can fit in the company. Employers should assess not only candidates’ qualifications but also their enabling skills, ethics and value propositions. The more an employee’s personal qualities fit in a company’s culture and values, the more he or she is motivated to contribute to that company’s vision. KPMG is a great example of evaluating candidates’ personal qualifications and skills by utilizing a game-based assessment process, followed by a video interview. This methodology enables a comprehensive assessment and is embraced by many companies nowadays.

To summarise, employers should assess both personal characteristics and formal qualifications when recruiting people as each of these elements has its own vital contribution to make in talent-seeking enterprises.