The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems to increase the costs of fuels. Do you agree or disagree?

Environmental issues are now becoming global concerns. Some people believe that an increase in fuel price is the best solution to reduce those problems. However, I am of the opinion that there are particular measures would be more effective than raising fuel costs.

It is a fallacy to consider high fuel costs as the best way to tackle environmental problem. Advocates of such a perception tend to claim that heightening fuel prices would lead to a decrease in the amount of fuel consumption for transportation and production resulting in reducing carbon dioxide emission and toxic air pollutants from vehicles and factories which are likely to be the main causes of greenhouse effect and global warming. However, such a scenario would not happen since using fuel terms to be a deep-rooted practice of human, which could be clearly seen that most vehicles in the world use fuels as the main source of energy. Furthermore, this solution may not only have no positive impact on the global environmental condition but also cause a counter-effects on the world’s economy. Therefore, applying a higher fuel price should not be regarded as the most practical solution.

In my point of view, some feasible measures could be taken to handle our environmental issues. Firstly, the governments should introduce laws as well as organize campaigns to encourage their citizens to use public transportation which may directly reduce the amount of smoke released from private cars and motorbikes. Besides, every country should have its public transportation improved to promote such a type of eco-friendly commuting mode. Secondly, an immense investment in renewable sources to reduce the cost of these types of power would switch people’s habit to use alternative energy instead of fossil fuels. Compared to such an inefficient measure like heightening fuel costs, those solutions tend to be more practical and sustainable to tackle environmental issues.

In conclusion, high fuel cost could not be considered as the most feasible method to solve environmental issues as other measures are likely to be more practical and sustainable.