Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

These days people do many any home parties and go out in restaurants. They order food in huge quantities and it gets wasted because it is not ordered in limited quantity and neither they do value the food. It can be managed by having proper estimates and giving the left over food to the needy ones.

Firstly, the major reason behind wasting the food is that, while having a get together, the actual quantity that needs to ordered is not calculated due to big group of people. Every individual has a different choice which leads to the large amount of food. Also, sometimes , risk of getting embarrassed in front of guests results in more quantity than required. Moreover, some individuals do not give importance to the food as they get it very easily and do not realize that there are many poor people who struggle to even have a one time meal.

There are many ways in which wastage of food can be reduced. To start with, it is important for the host to make sure about the choices and take a rough idea of the quantity required beforehand. It will ensure that the food prepared or ordered will suffice and would not be thrown away. Furthermore, those items should be prepared which could be used the following day. Finally, instead of throwing away the eatables it could be given to the needy. For instance, in some societies in Gurgaon, the left over food is stored in a common refrigerator which is given to the poor people.

In conclusion, in present days, people waste a lot of food because their inefficiency to ask right amount and their ignorance towards the significance of food. It can be managed by having an accurate idea and by donating the excessive eatables.