Some parents believe that reading books for entertainment is a waste of time for children and they think that their children should only read serious educational books.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by a significant number of guardians that reading novels and short story books is a time wastage for their pupil and they believe that children should focus only on academic books. I disagree with the idea and consider that reading entertainment books help students in use of words with different context and it helps the brain to become sharper.

To begin with, reading entertainment books create imaginary power; therefore, parents should encourage children to read such books. Story books help children to think in that particular manner and enhance their creativity. For instance, studying novel or short stories have always benefited students in terms of increasing intellectual ability. A recent survey from American organization has revealed that students who are more involved in reading social books are more creative in art and other social aspects. Thus, involving students in reading entertainment books is not a waste of time.

Similarly, reading entertainment books increases hold on a language. Entertainment books are more interesting as compared with academic books, regular habit of reading story books improve the language in terms of vocabulary, collocation of words and many other segments can be learnt with regular practice of reading. A good command on language benefits in academics while expressing thoughts in studies. For instance, reading English novels daily benefits reader in learning synonyms and the use of different words with respect to context.

To conclude, I disagree with the notion because of the reasons mentioned in above paragraphs. In future, the school curriculum may include entertainments books with academics to improve the language learning of students.