Some parents believe that reading books for entertainment is a waste of time for children and they think that their children should only read serious educational books.

What is your opinion?

The habit of reading plays a quintessential role in the overall development of children. According to some people reading comics or novels is a sheer wastage of time and children should be encouraged to read study books. In my opinion, reading the books of entertainment makes the children more innovative, improves their concentration power and enhance their learning abilities.

To begin with, reading comics or novels at a free time is the best recreational activity which has a plethora of benefits. Firstly, the habit of reading refrains children from other activities such as television watching and playing video games. Moreover, juveniles learn more while gazing and glancing the motivational stories of their favorite comic stars in books as compared to screens or academic books. For instance, according to an educational survey, it is found that children from the age of 5-10 years learn fast from storybooks as compared to other educational manuals.

Secondly, imagination power and the creativity of children gets enhanced while watching and reading simultaneously, consequently, this leads to the brainstorming of students that helps them to perform exceptionally best in academics. Additionally, reading helps the children to understand the structure of sentences and the meaning of words that gradually increase their level of concentration and the understanding of language. To exemplify, a psychological study revealed that the students with reading as a hobby have 70% more concentration power as compared to other students.

In conclusion, reading books of entertainment at leisure time is the best choice as it increases mind power, learning abilities and limits the involvement in other activities, however, the knowledge of academic and other educational books is also vital to perform efficiently in studies. Therefore, generating the habit of reading in offsprings is the best way for their development.