Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can the government do to reduce the amount of rubbish produced? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The modern society is facing a plethora of social issues and the most crucial from all is the massive production of household and industrial waste. The unnecessary excessive usage of products and its non-reusability are the major reasons for the increase in the quantity of rubbish. Therefore, some stringent actions to promote recycling and monitoring over-usage needs to be taken by government level to curb this problem.

First and the foremost reason for the uncontrolled waste production is the consumption of products in huge quantities and in a un-planned manner by people. In addition to this, people purchase the items including packaged food, plastic bottles and decoration material without making any count for social or personal events which consequently, lead to waste production. To illustrate, a study revealed that every year 100 tons of trash has been produced from the marriages throughout India. Secondly, most of the products are manufactured using non-biodegradable materials such as plastic, rubber and polythene which do not get decomposed. Furthermore, these products are easily available at cheap rates which enhances its usage, as a result, increases the level of trash.

To alleviate this problem certain measures are required to be taken by authorities. Firstly, the material and products used in social and public events should be monitored by the government officials, in order to, minimize the unnecessary wastage. Next, strict norms should be enforced to reduce the manufacturing of non-recyclable products which in turn will encourage the people to make use of biodegradable products. To exemplify, the government of Himachal a state in India, passed a law that obligates the vendors to use only perishable cups and plates.

In conclusion, although many reasons such as the use of plastic packaging materials and over consumerism contribute towards an increase in waste production, the government can reduce this growing problem by implementing laws and by encouraging recycling.