In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university

studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

Owing to the tremendous growth in the industrialisation and globalisation, acquiring university education has become quite difficult for students in many countries for which they have to work or travel prior to take admissions. This phenomenon has various benefits such as the provision of financial assistance and gaining of experience. Also, the lack of interest in studies and diversion of mind towards money are some drawbacks associated with this.

To embark on, there a plethora of advantages of employment done before starting university studies. Primarily, it is an undeniable fact, that the expenses of higher education are extremely high which a middle-class person hardly afford, in such situations, earning employment provides financial assistance to students. Secondly, travelling or working after graduating from secondary institutions, add an experience to face the challenges of university life. For instance, many elite universities in Canada, offer direct admission to the students holding an experience of the same field in which they have applied for studies.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages to this trend which can prove detrimental to the development of juvenile. Firstly, the gap between the studies can lead to the loss of interest of studies among the students, consequently, leading to the stoppage of studies. Next, the youngsters involved in employment often become money-minded and leave their studies for the sake of earning wealth. To exemplify, according to a study in the USA, 20% of the students emerged in work did not resume their studies after passing out from the school.

In conclusion, a gap before acquiring university education is beneficial in terms of economic help and expertise, however, this phenomenon can diminish the interest of students in studies and can make them money-oriented. Therefore, it is necessary to measure all the repercussions before attempting any trend.