Nowadays people make new friends through social media and internet chat groups. Some people think it is a good idea. Other think that face to face interaction is essential. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the inception of the technological era, various digital platforms of communication have also come into the picture. Nowadays, people find these ways of communication much more convenient and time-saving than meeting someone in person. Hence, the significance of social media platforms and internet chat groups cannot be discarded.

However, there is still a part of our society that prefers to confront each other personally rather than have a conversation through the internet.

Nowadays, almost everyone has a mobile phone and all it takes for them is just a few seconds to send another person a text message. However, social media platforms such as Facebook, WhatsApp, and MySpace provide users many more activities to do. People, especially teenagers, use these websites and applications a lot and sometimes come into contact with new people whom they haven’t even met personally. Therefore, virtual friendship with unknown people exposes them to multiple digital frauds such as theft of identity, monitory frauds, etc.

Apart from this, the extensive use of social media also causes many physiological problems for users. For instance, research conducted by ABC university states that people who use social media at least six hours a day are more depressed than the lot, who don’t use these platforms at all. This study further showed that heavy users of social media lacked confidence while confronting people in public.

On the other hand, the study also showed that people who were more involved in outings and used the internet only when it was necessary, they were more confident. Additionally, there chances to lead a successful life were much more.

In essence, the importance of social media platforms cannot be denied, however, people should ensure to take some safety measures while using these websites and applications, so that they don’t create any adverse effects on their lives. In my opinion, social media companies should put a limitation on the usage of their websites or application in a day and also send out advisories regarding that.