Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

In the contemporary society, it has become a common trend to purchase meals from shops or restaurants. Although people spend their hard earned money to buy these foods, they tend to waste them for a number of reasons. I will discuss the reasons why people do so and propose the possible measures that could be taken to prevent them.

To begin with, foods are wasted for a number of reasons. One predominant reason is, the food does not taste good. For example, a meal bought at a restaurant might not suit the taste preference of the person or the quick noodles bought from a grocery shop does not taste as good as home cooked noodles due to the added preservatives. Consequently, these meals are thrown away. Another reason could be that the items were received as a free item and the customer has no intention of eating them. Therefore, it remains on the shelves until it expires to be thrown away later.

However, the solutions to these problems are less sophisticated and cost efficient to implement. Firstly, there are several sites online that provides consumer reviews on food items and restaurants. People can go to these sites and easily find out about them. Moreover, checking the ratings of the restaurant before making a purchase helps get an idea of the quality of food they serve. Secondly, foods that were bought but not used could be given to people who have a penchant for the same. For instance, the box of chocolates candies that were acquired as a free item could be gifted to a friend or colleague who loves chocolates or has kids who would love them, would not only be preventing the food from being wasted but also deepen the bond.

In conclusion, I feel that food purchased from shops or restaurants are wasted in great amounts but visiting online site that gives reviews on these things or giving them away to someone who prefers them might be a few helpful measures that could be taken.