Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish Why do you think this is happening What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced

In recent years, there were a rapid increase in rubbish produced by people all over the world, especially in developed countries and developing countries. Some countries have even formulated relevant policies to prevent an overwhelming amount of rubbish.

The causes of excessive waste are due to the development of economic and the competitive between companies that people need to involve more time in work. Everything coming rush and people prefer to take away and have a meal as simple as possible that lead to producing more and more disposable tableware and takeout box. Also, the purchasing ability rises with the increase of income, people would rather buy a new product to replace the old one.

In my point of view, the government should educate and prompt how to recycle to a citizen. If the recycling awareness can be trained from a small start, it will not only allow them to sort correctly and quickly, but also improve the efficiency of recyclers. As for the promotion of recycling, the government can introduce giveaways to attract public attention. Such as, people can get a pack of toilet paper if 1kg of paper materials is recycled, or they can use a functional old mobile phone to trade in a new mobile phone in order to get a discount.

Of cause, rises the sale tax or garbage levy is one of the methods to reduce rubbish production. However, too many and too high tax rates will reduce the appetite for consumption, thus it will affect the country’s economic system. So education is a good way to make recycling a civic responsibility.