Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish.

Why do you think this is happening?

What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced.

It is irrefutable that litter is the major problem faced by the nations. Advocates are of the view that non-biodegradable substances are polluting the environment at fast pace in current time. This essay intends to delve into the causes and will highlights the efforts that can be done at government level to curb the rubbish.

To begin with, there are numerous reasons that individuals are throwing considerable amount of litter out of their homes. Firstly, burgeoning consumer market is responsible for this. As demand for products is surging, a large amount of packaging material is getting used so that product appeals to the customer. Consequently, rubbish is getting increased manyfold because of this packing which is thrown away by customer after unpacking. Secondly, repair of products and goods is very costly; therefore, people prefer to through their damaged items in litter. Last but not the least, major part of the rubbish is not biodegradable like presence of plastic material. Therefore, this type of material stack up for many years and leads to more production.

Nevertheless, there are enormous plausible solutions which can be implemented by the government to ameliorate the situation. creating Awareness among the public is the first task which state administration should do. if men and women will be educated then there are less chances of rubbish production by them. It can be done via seminars, conferences and plays. Additionally, government body should legislate some laws to promote recycle, reduce and reuse of items. Also, there should be incentives for public for collecting and disposing off their waste material. For instance, state government in Goa gives two rupees for disposing one plastic bottles in recycling machine. Consequently, It is win-win situation for both.

To recapitulate, the aforementioned statements provide plausible reasons for increasing rubbish and also suggest some steps that can be taken to alleviate the problem.