The number of people who are interested in and wearing fashionable clothes is increasing.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Fashion industry is rapidly gaining its popularity among youngsters. Nowadays, a majority of people prefer wearing trendy outfits to show their status of being rich, whereas some people completely oppose this idea and believe that it is a wastage of money. This essay agrees with the later viewpoint and will discuss both viewpoints in detail.

To begin with, most youngsters believe that wearing the latest fashionable clothes is a sense of satisfaction. That is to say, the famous TV celebrities wearing expensive clothes and shoes have a feeling that their style is unique, which is why they have a huge fan following. Certainly, it is a way to impress others because people always praise unique and beautiful things, instead of commonly available items. Furthermore, due to the development in the technology, it is easy to follow the latest fashion as all the websites have advertisements showing trendy clothes, shoes and jewellary and due to the wide range of options available to choose from, people consider it is a positive development.

On the other hand, there are people who opine that following latest fashion has merely a negative impact on the society. This is because, the branded clothes are way more expensive than normal clothes and people spend almost half of their salary on buying such clothes, resulting in no saving left for the future. As a result, such people would not be able to survive if there are uncertain situations, such as no job or economic crises. In addition, a majority of brands are international and people who prefer purchasing those brands from international market, are actually ignoring their local market, which eventually disturbs the local economy of a country. Lastly, the quality of stylish clothes is not very good in terms of durability and comfort as compared to local clothes.

To conclude, although one should stay up to date in terms of latest fashion and trends. However, considering the cost, quality and the impacts of international brands on local market makes me feel that the fashion has more negative effects on the society than positive.